1987 Morse High School Boys

1987 Morse High Schools Boys’ team was the first of three straight State Championships for the Shipbuilders from 1987 to 1989. The ’87 team went undefeated as they ran through the regular season with a winning margin of over 25 points per game. Coached by Hall of Famer Tom Maines, they were incredibly deep, as ten players from the team went on to play in college, among them John Conley, Joe Cawley, Tom Dorion, Matt Skillings, and Derick Hodge. They defeated Lawrence 69-62 for their first of three Gold Balls